Pet Sounds with George Byrne (1999)

Posted in Music with tags , on April 19, 2015 by Fanning Sessions


There have been many great tributes made to George Byrne who recently passed away all too young. The current issue of Hot Press is a good starting point. We thought we would pay tribute in the only way we know how – by posting a radio show. This one features George sitting in for Tom Dunne on his ‘Pet Sounds’ show on TodayFM back on a bank holiday in 1999. If you would like to read a nice tribute to George we particularly enjoyed this piece on Dublin Review of Books.

todayfm 7-9pm bank holiday monday with engineer gavin blake

the hormones – mr wilson
beach boys – god only knows
teenage fanclub – is this music
blur – there is no other way
happy mondays – kinky afro
“powerpop paradise”
cotton mather – my before & after
pugwash – darkness makes us blind
jason faulkner – lucky day
al green – take me to the river
nina simone – to love somebody
aslan – hurt sometimes (live)
go-betweens – bachelor kisses
suede – metal mickey
{the rubinoos – amnesia}
{fountain of wayne – barbara h}
brad jones – the blunderbuss
shelby lynne – leaving
lucinda williams – metal firecracker ?
dusty springfield – i close my eyes
“2 tracks for my girlfriend”
matthew sweet – someone to pull the trigger
matthew sweet – if time permits
the replacements – alex chilton
big star – when my baby’s beside me
teenage fanclub – aint that enough
the radiators – million dollar hero
david bowie – hang on to yourself
the smiths – panic
mink deville – just to walk that little girl home

Pet Sounds with George Byrne (1999) by Fanningsessions on Mixcloud

Bunny Hoover (1996)

Posted in Music with tags , , , on April 13, 2015 by Fanning Sessions

From Dublin, Bunny Hoover were Niall Meagher (vocals & guitar), James Guinevan (guitar & vocals), Martin Arthur (bass & vocals) and Ronan McDonnell (drums). James, Niall and Martin were previously in The Visitors. The band released a debut album ‘Cheaper In China‘ in 1995. These tracks however are from a tape of their unreleased second album recorded in 1996. Producer of the tracks which were recorded at Bow Lane Studios was Paul Thomas. If you have any further details or even a band photo please get in touch.

Unpopular (1996)

Happy (1996)

Ask At The Front Desk (1996)

The Baby Snakes (1985 Session)

Posted in Music with tags , , , on March 28, 2015 by Fanning Sessions
Photo by Michael Rynne,  L-R Pat O'Brien (bass), Niall O'Sullivan (guitars), Frank Rynne (vocals) Ciaran Byrne (drums)

Photo by Michael Rynne, L-R Pat O’Brien (bass), Niall O’Sullivan (guitars), Frank Rynne (vocals) Ciaran Byrne (drums)

The Baby Snakes recorded a three track Fanning session on 14th October 1985 of which we have two tracks. The band were Frank Rynne (vocals & guitar), Niall O’Sullivan (guitar), Dick Barry (bass), Ciaran O’Brien (drums) and John Ryan (keyboards). Check out for full details and some great press clippings.

The Prophet (1985)

Moonlight (1985)

The Honey Thieves (1990 Session)

Posted in Music with tags , , on March 20, 2015 by Fanning Sessions

honey thieves

From Dublin, The Honey Thieves were Dave Lavelle (vocals), Derek Turner (guitar), Peter Doyle (bass) and Sean Ryan (drums). Derek Turner was previously in Guernica while Sean Ryan was a member of The Swinging Swine and The Candyshop.

Trip Around The World (1990)

What You Got It For (1990)

Don’t Let Time Get Away (1990)

I Feel (1990)

The Experiment (1986 Session)

Posted in Music with tags , , on March 16, 2015 by Fanning Sessions

From Dublin, The Experiment were Ken Duffy (vocals), Liam Farrington (guitar), Josh Elliot (organ), Mark Young (bass) and Gary Sullivan (drums). They recorded a Fanning Session on November 11th 1986 featuring three tracks – ‘Second Sight’, ‘Love’s Left Behind’ and ‘The Burning’.

Second Sight (1986)

Tony Fenton (1961 – 2015)

Posted in Music with tags on March 12, 2015 by Fanning Sessions

the dude 1961 2015

tony fenton

Henry McCullough on the BP Fallon Orchestra

Posted in Music with tags , , , on March 1, 2015 by Fanning Sessions

henrys heroes

20 years after they performed together in Sweeney’s Men, Johnny Moynihan (vocals, bouzouki, fiddle, tin whistle) , Terry Woods (vocals, banjo, guitar) and Henry McCullough (guitar) recovened in the RTE Studios for a very special edition of the BP Fallon Orchestra. Henry McCullough started out as a member of The People and Eire Apparent before joining Sweeney’s Men. He later joined Joe Cocker & The Grease Band and Wings with Paul & Linda McCartney followed by a long list of appearances. Henry suffered a serious heart attack in 2012 from which he never fully recovered. There will be a benefit gig in The Half Moon in Putney, London on St Patrick’s Day to raise funds for Henry’s care.


Sweeney’s Men on the BPFO (198?)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,076 other followers