Auto Da Fe

Auto Da Fe were formed in 1980 by Gay Woods (vocals, ex Steeleye Span, The Woods Band) and Trevor Knight (keyboards, ex No Buckets, Naima, Jimi Slevin Band) with Wout Pennings (guitar), Carel van Rijn (bass) and Theo Wanders (drums). Woods and Knight relocated to Ireland and were joined by Jimi Slevin (guitar), Mark Megaray (bass, ex Radiators) and Robbie Brennan (drums). The project was a big departure musically for Woods who had been successful as a folk artist. Auto Da Fe released a series of singles which performed well in Ireland but saw little success abroad. The singles ‘November November’, ‘Bad Experience’, ‘Man Of Mine’, ‘Somethings Gotten Hold Of My Heart’ and ‘All Is Yellow Hot Hot Hot’ were collected together as ‘5 Singles And 1 Smoked Cod‘ which can be purchased on iTunes. Phil Lynott, champion and friend of the band, variously produced, played and sang on the early singles and Midge Ure played guitar on and coproduced ‘Man Of Mine’.

Somethings Gotten Hold Of My Heart (1984)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: