Something Happens! In Concert (1989)

Posted in Music with tags , , , on January 24, 2015 by Fanning Sessions
Photo (C) Shane Mc Carthy Photography

Photo (C) Shane Mc Carthy Photography

The Dave Fanning Show on 2FM featured a weekly in concert segment with a 30 minute live recording from a band of the day. Something Happens! featured in session last week but we came across this recording on the Something Happens facebook group and couldn’t resist. It’s a two parter so we pretty have the full show. By the way the lads have just announced they are to play at the Killarney Festival on June 27th alongside The Undertones and The Frank & Walters.

02-What Now
03-Take This With You
05-Tall Girls Club
06-Forget Georgia
07-I Had a Feeling
08-Here Comes the Only One Again
09-7 Days Till 4am
11-Burn Clear
12-Paloma Blanca
13-Summertime Love
14-Does Your Mother Know

In Concert – Part 1 (1989)

In Concert – Part 2 (1989)

Something Happens (1995 Acoustic Session)

Posted in live, Music, radio, session with tags , on January 16, 2015 by Fanning Sessions

Recorded live on the RTE 2FM Mike Moloney show June 21st 1995. Something Happens! are Tom Dunne, Ray Harman, Alan Byrne and Eamonn Ryan. Check out Tom Dunne nightly 10pm – midnight on Newstalk.

Fishboy (1995)

Pray (1995)

The Sultans of Ping F.C. (1993 Session)

Posted in Fanning, Music, radio, session with tags , , on January 8, 2015 by Fanning Sessions


The Sultans of Ping F.C. recorded this, their second session for Dave Fanning in January 1993. At the time the band was Morty Mcarthy (drums), Pat O’Connell (guitar), Niall O’Flaherty (vocals and harmonica) and Alan McFeely (bass).

U Talk 2 Much (1993)

Armitage Shanks (1993)

Karaoke Queen (1993)

The Frank and Walters (1993 Acoustic Session)

Posted in Music with tags , on January 7, 2015 by Fanning Sessions


The Frank and Walters need no introduction – formed on October 14th 1989 and still going strong 26 years later with a new album on the way. The original lineup featured here was Paul Linehan (vocals/bass), Niall Linehan (guitar), and Ashley Keating (drums). This acoustic session was recorded in January 1993 for Dave Fanning.

Bake Us A Song (1993)

After All (1993)

Time (1993)

2014 in review

Posted in Music on December 29, 2014 by Fanning Sessions

The stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

Here's an excerpt:

Madison Square Garden can seat 20,000 people for a concert. This blog was viewed about 62,000 times in 2014. If it were a concert at Madison Square Garden, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

Holiday TV & Radio Highlights (2014)

Posted in Music with tags on December 27, 2014 by Fanning Sessions


Another end of year ritual is the obligatory trawl through the RTE Guide looking for interesting shows to record. The radio and TV programmers like to use this time to review the year’s shows which is fine by us because it often makes for a great listen especially when they feature the best live performances of the year. Here are some of what has caught the eye so far, if we missed something please holler..



Man on Bridge – documentary telling the story of Dublin street photographer Arthur Fields, who took pictures on O’Connell Bridge from the 1930s to the 1980s. RTE1 18.30 28th Dec

Whelan’s at 25 – Fiachna O Braonain and Una Mullally present a celebration of the music venue with performances by Ham Sandwich, The Riptide Movement, Cathy Davey, Gavin James, Paddy Casey and more. TG4 23.25-00.25, New Years Eve.

Leonard Cohen Live In Dublin – 00.25-1.35 TG4 New Year’s Eve

Electric Picnic 2014 Highlights – 21.00-22.30 RTE2 New Year’s Day

Marley – 2012 documentary made with the support of the musician’s family. RTE2 22.30-1.15 New Year’s Day


Dave Fanning 2014 Review – Dave replays some of the best interviews which featured on his show during the year. RTE 2fm 10.00-12.00 Sat 27th and Sun 28th

stephen ryan aiden gillen

Aidan Gillen hosting Tom Dunne Show – Actor Gillen has form and great taste in music. He sits in for Tom for 2 nights, the second of those with his friend Stephen Ryan (Stars of Heaven, The Revenants) playing some of their favourite music and premiering tracks from the soon to be released album by The Drays. Newstalk, 22.00-00.00 29th and 30th Dec


Dave Couse – back in the chair for 3 nights only 9pm – midnight, TodayFM 29th and 30th Dec and Jan 1st


Whelan’s at 25 – A documentary by Danny Carroll featuring contributions from the likes of Glen Hansard, The National and Stuart Clark of Hot Press. RTE Radio 1 4-5pm, New Years Eve.

Old Year’s Airs – A look back at nearly 300 live performances on RTE Radio 1 this year, of which, well over two thirds were Irish bands and musicians. RTE Radio 1 19.00-21.00 New Year’s Eve

15 for 2015 – Colm O’Sullivan profiles 15 acts tipped for success in 2015. TodayFM 19.00-21.00 New Year’s Eve

Best of TodayFM Sessions – “some of the biggest artists on the planet mixed with some of Irelands up and coming talents, unplugged”, engineered by Gavin Blake and presented by Ed Smith, TodayFM 19.00-21.00 New Year’s Day

Christmas on RTE Radio
TodayFM at Christmas
Christmas on the Tom Dunne Show

The Stars are Underground

Posted in Music on December 26, 2014 by Fanning Sessions


We’ve long been a fan of Pat Clafferty. He first came to our attention with The Riordans. Next came Mexican Pets. And finally there was Wheel. All three bands recorded Fanning sessions but unfortunately as yet we only have The Riordans. The reason we mention Pat is because he is organising an evening ‘Celebrating Irish independent music from the 90s‘ in The Grand Social on 29th December at 8pm. Niall McGuirk of Hope and Paul Shanahan of Blunt will also be DJing.

‘The Stars are Underground’ is also the title of a 1996 documentary by Daragh McCarthy which features some bands who might make an appearance next Monday.. Two excellent sites you should check out are blunt and rekcollector. And it goes without saying if you have any Fanning sessions for us please get in touch..

Finally we have a track titled ‘The Stars are Underground’ from another Patrick Clafferty project, Reno 5. Recorded in London 1999, the band also features Michael Mullen, Ivan Birthistle and Ross Neville.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,957 other followers