Flex & The Fastweather – Little Pieces

flex & fastweather

Sad news from Cork in the last couple of days, Mandy Murphy singer with Flex & The Fastweather has passed away. Our deepest condolences to her family and friends.

.”I will never forget those occasions when we sang together….her beautiful haunting voice” Christy Moore

Flex & The Fastweather – Little Pieces (1986)

3 Responses to “Flex & The Fastweather – Little Pieces”

  1. Mairead Bracken Says:

    Mandy Murphys vocals were flawless inspirational and enhanced so very much all of the very many artists with whom she collaborated.she was one of the most musically intelligent human beings i know as well as an amazing lyricists and songsmith.On a human level she was kind humble a wonderful teacher and mentor and she will be sorely missed.On the day of her passing her name was whispered throughout her home city of Cork.Ni bheidh a leitheid ann aris.Thank you for your generous spirit Mandy and for sharing your talent so selflessly.xxx

  2. John Dundon Says:

    I have taken a while to comment on this post as I was very shocked when I read it. I did not know Mandy personally but only as a music fan and therefore I must be mindful of what I am sure is a very sad loss to her family and friends

    Mid 80s I was in Dublin preparing for an exam lodging for the night at a B&B in the Donnybrook area, by 9 pm I had enough of the books and my trusty copy of In Dublin and the gig guide led me to the Baggot Inn, it was mid week maybe Wed or Thursday and a band called Flex and the Fastweather were billed. I can still hear the twin vocals of Mandy and Paul. I only saw the band that time but chased down the singles and still play them ….. I passed the exam

    1985 – I applied to RTE for tickets for In Session, the Freddie White band, we drove up from Limerick – the band was a who’s who of Irish musicians, Bill Whelan, Pat Fitz ex Katmandu, Greg Boland on guitar, Tony Molloy on bass, Carl Geraty on sax, Paul McAteer on drums and MANDY with Tony Davies on vocals – I have not been in RTE since.

    RTE released the album which I have on cassette and vinyl and on Tenderness on the Block you can hear the power of Mandy’s vocal

    May she rest in Peace and sing with the angels

  3. Great comment, thank you John. Might have to borrow that tape off you sometime 😉

Leave a Reply

