“If you couldn’t persuade Henry’s, you didn’t matter where it mattered” – Colm O Callaghan

Rock critic Colm O’Callaghan (Hot Press, No Disco, Scrap Saturday) has come out of retirement to write an ode to Sir Henrys Cork.. “the second Cypress, Mine! album.. which is magnificent, has still to see the light of day”

cypress mine

sir henrys 2014

This guest post is courtesy of Colm O Callaghan – somebody who has been supportive of this project literally since the start.  Our first email was from him, wishing us well and offering any assistance and he has been true to his word. Thanks for all your help Colm.

And now he has written this for us. I hope you enjoy

 

I can’t remember the first time I set foot inside Sir Henrys and I can’t remember the last time either but I remember clearly where the rose was sown.

I was a weedy teenager during the summer of 1982 [and for several other summers thereafter] when my father arranged a part-time job for me, my first. For eight weeks I stacked shelves and packed shopping bags, without any great distinction, in Roches Stores on Patrick Street. On my first day I was assigned to the biscuit aisle ;- on my second…

View original post 1,762 more words

Leave a Reply

