The Hunting Toadstools

Brought to you courtesy fortune who came bearing gifts some of which I hope to share in the coming weeks.

I had never heard of this band before so I am relying on the cassette inlay, I hope time and the internet will work it’s magic.

Thank you to the kind reader who dug this one out!

Julian Gough has gently pointed out that the band name was actually Hunting Toadstools (not The Haunted Toadstools as originally posted) and a Google search reveals they featured one Conor Pope of Irish Times Pricewatch fame.

Listen to some more demo tracks and read more details on the band members here.

Pop Girl (1989?)

5 Responses to “The Hunting Toadstools”

  1. shane mac nally Says:

    Much as I hate to disagree with Julian, the band were definitely called “The Hunting Toadstools” and I should know, I may still have an original poster somewhere! I even remember what a hunting toadstool was, and they were certainly bearing weapons!

  2. Fanning Sessions Says:

    Shane, your name has a ring of authority to it so I have updated the name! If you happen to come across that poster I’d love to add some artwork to the post 😉

  3. I vaguely remember doing some artwork for those demo tapes. Back when everything was small and rounded and the world was harmless.

  4. Fanning Sessions Says:

    Don’t suppose you still have a copy?

  5. RTÉ has the only copies! These were (crude) drawings folded over and taped to the tape reel boxes, to make them stand out from the crowd. I think one was of a toadstool in a crosshairs, and another was – for no reason I can recollect – a sheep with a target painted on it.

    Or maybe not. Wasn’t this 1988? Maybe it was a hundred little ambulances done in lipstick.

Leave a Reply

