Power Of Dreams (1989)

power of dreams

From Clondalkin, Power Of Dreams are Craig Walker (guitar & vocals), brother Keith Walker (drums) and Michael Lennox (bass). They recorded a Fanning session in April 1989 and in July 1989 they recorded an EP for Setanta Records produced by Sean O’Neill (ex Undertones and That Petrol Emotion). Here’s what Craig Walker said in an April state.ie interview:

“Our first demo was produced by a guy called Stano who was around at the same time as the Virgin Prunes and ended up working with Colm from My Bloody Valentine. He sent it over to Keith Cullen because he knew he’d just started Setanta Records by putting out an Into Paradise single, another Dublin band. He came to a show, said he wanted to put a record out and invited us over to London.”

“We didn’t really think much of it but we went over and he put us in a studio in Elephant & Castle. We’d never really been to London before and ended up staying in Keith’s squat. The whole experience was fantastic. We recorded the single, went away and didn’t expect anything more. Then I got a call from Keith that we were single of the week in Music Week and Melody Maker. It all went crazy then.”

Following a bidding war they signed to Polydor. Cypress, Mine! guitarist Ian Olney (most recently seen with the reformed Sultans Of Ping F.C.) joined in June 1990, just before the release of debut LP ‘Immigrants, Emigrants And Me’. 2010 marks the 20th anniversary of the release of that album and to mark the occasion, the band have reformed for a series of live shows in Spirit Store, Dundalk (March 10); Whelan’s, Dublin (March 12); and The Pavilion, Cork (March 13). A 2CD limited edition of the album, containing all 14 original tracks plus the debut EP ‘A Little Piece of God’ and various b-sides, will be released on 1st March 2010.

Craig Walker has just released his debut solo album ‘Siamese’ and he recently recorded a session for Dan Hegarty on 2fm.

Here is the title track of that original Setanta Records EP:

A Little Piece Of God (1989)

2 Responses to “Power Of Dreams (1989)”

  1. Fanning Sessions Says:

    2FM DJ and current holder of the RTE session baton, Dan Hegarty has written of PoD and their upcoming tour over on his alcohol fueled sponsored blog here.

  2. Power of Dreams will release 1989: The Best Of Power Of Dreams on 10th December. It features the brand new track, 1989, alongside twelve of the band’s favourite songs spanning their career.

    Track list:

    1. 100 Ways To Kill A Love
    2. The Jokes On Me
    3. Stay
    4. Never Been To Texas
    5. Cancer
    6. There I Go Again
    7. Understand
    8. Happy Game
    9. Cathy’s World
    10. Still Lost
    11. Metalscape
    12. Hymn For Him
    13. 1989


    Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/powerofdreams

    Join the POD mailing list:

    POD website: http://www.powerofdreams.ie

    Pete x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: