The Pleasure Cell

From Dublin featuring Noel Green (guitar & vocals), Dermot Reid (bass), Williard (drums) and Barry H (guitar) The Pleasure Cell released just one single ‘New Age’. Dave Fanning played this in his review of Irish music released in 1986. A video for “She’s Just A Girl” on the RTE show Visual Eyes in 1987 (you’ll never guess who the host was) can be seen here. They also recorded a Fanning session so if anyone has a copy please drop a line.

Here’s what Niall McGuirk writes in his 2004 book “Document – A Story Of Hope” which tells of vegan recipes and punk / hardcore in Dublin between 1987 – 1999.

The Pleasure Cell’s omission from any charting of Irish music is a crying shame. “A Statement Is A Weapon in an Empty Hand” was a line from from their New Age 7” released independently in 1987 on their own Common Ground Records.

New Age (1986)

3 Responses to “The Pleasure Cell”

  1. That’s the 7 alright, I think. They did do a session though

  2. Hey, just came across your mention of Niall McGuirk. I was on the fringes of the Hope Collective scene. I went to a lot of the gigs in the Attic (above the White Horse Inn along the quays). I have a copy of the “Statement 12” and I just got a copy of the cook book on Amazon a few weeks ago.

    I have to say I was never a fan of Dave Fanning the man but I remember his show well. I had a friend that was in Kerbdog and through them got to hear some of their fellow Kilkenny bands like the Jerusalem Taxis who all recorded Fanning Sessions. Got any of them?

    I just started a blog partly about my favourite albums, partly about growing up in Lucan, West Dublin. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

